Dead End Road

Intro: D-D-D/A7-D

1.
Was the letter bomb for me,
or the poison in my tea? D-D-G-D
Was the bullet through my car
going just a bit too far? D-D-A-A7
Was it anything I did
that made you hate me, Kid? D-D-G-D
Well, there’s nothing you can say or do
that will change the way I feel about you. G-D-G-Em-A
Chorus
That’s why I named a dead-end road after you
and a holiday on May thirty-two, D-Em-A7-D
Then I carved your name in the sole of my shoe,
so I never could forget you. Gmaj7-Em-A7-D
I wrote your name in the sky with a plane
and on a sidewalk with colored chalk in the rain, D-Em-A7-D
Then I scrawled it in soap on my cracked window-pane,
so your name won’t fade away. Gmaj7-Em-A7-D
2.
Did I ever make you cry?
Spit a peach pit in your eye?
Did I once insult your mom?
Make you grovel for a crumb?
Did I steal what’s in your purse?
Did you ever hear me curse?
Then I can’t surmise what I did wrong.
Won’t you call me and tell me when you hear my song?
Chorus
That’s why I carved your name in a dead apple tree
and on a hunk of maple sugar candy,
Called it in on a program on late-night TV,
so your name will last forever.
Then I wrote your name in fudge on a cake
and on a leaky boat that I sank in lake,
And I scratched it sand on a beach with a rake,
so your name won’t fade away.
3. (optional key change: up half step)
From the hints I’ve lately had
I can see you’re pretty mad.
Is it ’cause I won’t bow down,
kiss your footprints on the ground?
Then behold these things I’ve done,
all my memorials to you, Hon.
Maybe these great things will make you see
what a misconception you’ve had about me.
Chorus
Yes, I named a dead-end road after you
and a holiday on May thirty-two,
Then I carved your name in the sole of my shoe,
so I’d always have you near me.
I wrote your name in the sky with a plane
and on a sidewalk with colored chalk in the rain,
Then I scrawled it in soap on my cracked windowpane —
so your name will linger on.
Fade (Chorus)
I wrote your name in fudge on a cake
and on a leaky boat that I sank in the lake…

copyright 1992, David A. Woodbury

Leave a Reply

